SYA alumni, faculty, parents and friends others make amazing things happen in the world.

Their accomplishments advance the common good inspiring others toward innovation and creativity. In its 50th year, SYA established the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Honorary Class Alumnus/a Award, and in 2018 established the Stephen M. Foster ES'65 Exemplary Service Award. If you are interested in nominating an individual for either award, please see below.

2023 award honorees

Join us for a virtual Town Hall on Wednesday, September 27, 2023, at 3 p.m. EDT to hear what's happening at SYA and to learn more about our honorees. 


Form will be available in January.

Milestone reunion year classes may wish to consider nominating a faculty member for the SYA Honorary Alumnus/a Award. 

SYA Awards Committee
Darcy McLean ES'01, Chair 

Donald Austin FR'01-07RD, Head of Newark Academy
Annabelle Brown Fowlkes FR'90 FR'22P
Julian Fu CN'06
Brittany Toscano Gore IT'02
Nahin Jorgge IT'06
Peter Kirby FR'79
Holland Goss Lynch FR'86

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients
Class of SYA Spain 1965 (2015)
G. Parker Harris FR'85 (2017)
Charles H. Rivkin FR'79 (2017)
JB Perrette ES'89 (2018)
Robin Hauser FR'82 (2018)
Roger McNamee FR'74 (2019)
Carolynn Rockafellow FR'77 FRS'09P (2019)
The Alumnae of the Class of SYA Spain 1971 (2021)
Cheo Hodari Coker ES'89 (2022)

The Stephen M. Foster ES'65 Exemplary Service Award
Stephen M. Foster ES'65 (2018)
Douglas Renfield-Miller FR'71 CN'01P IT'05P ES'10P (2019)
Alex Alger FR'79 CN'12P (2021)
Carlos Alvarez FR'00P (2021)
Jamie Broderick FR'71 (2021)

Margaret Conklin FR'74 (2022)  

Honorary Class Alumnus/a Award Recipients
Ángel Vilalta ES’65-'98F (2015); given by the Class of SYA Spain 1983
Marie-Cécile Heurtin FR’68-'09F (2015); given by the Class of SYA France 1971